Department of Finance is one of the major Departments under Central Tibetan Administration (CTA). Prior to the inception of Finance Department, the responsibility of all the financial and budgetary activities were shouldered by Gadrang Lobsang Rigzin, Kalon for Security Department till 1966.  Subsequently, a collective Finance Committee consisting of five members headed by Woeser Gyaltsen, Kalon for Department of Religious Affairs looked after the financial aspects of the CTA.   On May 29, 1969, Department of Finance was incepted with Late Kasur Tsewang Tamdin as first Kalon and Mr. Lhundup Gyalpo as first Secretary of the Department.

The main objective and role of the Department is to raise revenue for CTA to fulfill its mission and to prepare, execute and control its annual budget.

The Finance Department started with initial capital of Rs 72,983.79 and gradually strengthened its financial prospects with tremendous support from individual Tibetans, donations from International organizations, and engaging in various trade and commerce activities by the department. 

In 2001, 12th Kashag changed the existing financial policy and all business establishments run by the Department were privatized.

Currently the Department of finance is headed by Honorable Kalon Mr. Tsering Dhundup and Acting executive secretary Mr. Dawa Dorjee for overseeing the activities of the Department. There are three divisions, headed by an Additional Secretary and two Joint Secretaries.  The current staff strength of the Department is thirty three.