Department of Finance

The Department of Finance is one of the major Departments under the Central Tibetan Administration (CTA). Prior to the inception of the Finance Department, the responsibility of all the financial and budgetary activities was shouldered by Gadrang Lobsang Rigzin, Kalon, for Security Department till 1966.  Subsequently, a collective Finance Committee consisting of five members headed by Woeser Gyaltsen, Kalon for the Department of Religious Affairs looked after the financial aspects of the CTA. On May 29, 1969, the Department of Finance was incepted with Late Kasur Tsewang Tamdin as the first Kalon and Lhundup Gyalpo as the first Secretary of the Department.

The main objective and role of the Department are to raise revenue for CTA to fulfil its mission and to prepare, execute and control its annual budget, issue a Green Book and management of voluntary contributions from Tibetans, various registered bodies and projects under the department.

The Finance Department started with an initial capital of Rs 72,983.79 and gradually strengthened its financial prospects with tremendous support from individual Tibetans, donations from International organizations, and engagement in various trade and commerce activities by the department.

In 2001, 12th Kashag changed the existing financial policy and all business establishments run by the Department were privatized.

Currently, the Department of Finance is headed by Honorable Sikyong Penpa Tsering and Acting Executive Secretary Tenzin Legdup for overseeing the activities of the Department. The current staff strength of the Department is fifty-three.