March 9, 2007
   Posted in News Flash
Published By Tashi

Eminent Indian MPs to Call Upon His Holiness

Friday, 9 March 2007, 12:20 p.m.

Dharamshala: A high-level 15-member delegation of eminent Indian parliamentarians–including former Indian Defense Minister George Fernandes, Shri Bashishtha Narain Singh (Janta Dal United), and Maharani Pratibha Singh (Congress I), after addressing the commemoration of the 48th Tibetan National Uprising Day here at the Tsuglakhang–are expected tomorrow noon to call upon His Holiness the Dalai Lama.

Speaking to TibetNet, the speaker of Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile, Karma Chophel, who invited the Indian parliamentarians, in his capacity as the chairman of the Tibetan Parliamentary and Policy Research, said that the exile parliament views this visit as extremely momentous.

“It’s the first time in the history of exile that the members of Indian Parliament will visit Dharamshala to commemorate the National Uprising Day,” according to a statement released by Acharya Yeshi Phuntsok, executive programmer of the TPPRC, who is also a member of the Tibetan parliament.

As this report went online, 6 members of the delegation has already arrived, while Deputy Speaker Gyari Dolma was scheduled to receive George Fernandes and Rajesh Kunmar Manjhi (RJD) at the Pathankot airport this afternoon. All the remaining members were expected to arrive here tomorrow.

Other members of the delegation include Mr Thupten Chhewang (UT), Mr Nakul Das Rai (SDF), Mr Arun Kumar Sharma (AGP), Mr Ran Dhar Kashyap (Congress-I), Mr Khiren Rijiju (BJP), Mr Tapir Gao (BJP), Mr D.N. Sharma (Congress-I), Mr Jayaben Thakker (BJP), Mr Ramachandra Paswan (LS), Mr Vijay Krishna (RJD), Mr K. Battacharjea (Congress-I), Mr Ravi Prakash Verma (SP).

Share with your friends