August 9, 2017
   Posted in Reports from CTA Offices
Published By Jamphel Shonu

Delhi : The 10-day Tibetan Parliamentary delegation’s program at India’s capital city, New Delhi concluded successfully with the meeting of All Party Indian Parliamentarians Forum on Tibet (APIPFT) at Constitution Club of India on its final day.

The delegations has met a total of 38 members of houses of Indian Parliament, belonging to 15 different political parties constituting 16 different states of India. They also intellectuals like Prof.Vijay Kumar Manotra, former member of parliament and Shri Ram Bahadur Rai, President of Indira Gandhi National Centre for Arts.

On 8 August 2017, on the final leg of the Indian parliamentarian meeting program by the Tibetan Parliamentary delegation, a meeting with All Party Indian Parliamentarians’ Forum (APIPFT) for Tibet was held at the Constitution Club of India. The meeting was attended by 15 Indian parliamentarians, belonging to 8 different political parties, the 2 member-team of the Tibetan Parliamentary delegation led Deputy Speaker Ven Acharya Yeshi Phunstok, Mr. Tsewang Gyalpo Arya, Secretary of Bureau of His Holiness the Dalai Lama and the staffs of India-Tibet Coordination office and Tibetan Parliamentary Secretariat.

Chaired by APIPFT’s convener Shri. Shanta Kumar, who welcomed the partakers of the meetings, said, ‘APIPFT is the oldest parliamentarian support group in the whole world  and also very effective support group as well.’

During the meeting, Deputy Speaker Ven Acharya Yeshi Phuntsok updated the members on the implementation of the resolution adopted during the last meeting, which was held on December 2016 as well as the current situations inside Tibet. He also elucidated on the supports from the parliamentarians of various countries, national and international alike, for the Tibet’s cause.The meeting, with the members’ active participation, came up with variegated ideas and suggestions as they discussed on effective operation of APIPFT, its performance and ways to garner more support  for the Tibet’s cause through it. It concluded with adoption of resolutions for the Tibet’s cause.

The Tibetan Parliamentary delegation is expected to leave for Dharamsala from Delhi on 10 August 2017.

– Report filed by Tibetan Parliamentary Secretariat –

with Shri Ravi Prakash Verma R.S

with Shri Ram Bahudur Rai.

with Shri Raju Shetti L.S

With Shri Kiranmay Nanda R.S.

Shri Banshilal Mahto L.S

Share with your friends