June 28, 2012
   Posted in News Flash
Published By Tashi
Indian Parliamentary delegation with members of the standing committee of the Tibetan Parliament in Dharamsala on 26 June 2012

DHARAMSHALA: An Indian parliamentary delegation, who were on an official trip to Dharamsala, visited the Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile in Dharamsala on 26 June.

The members of the delegation, which composed of ten Rajya Sabha (Upper House) MPs, were Maya Singh, Dr Bharat Kumar Raut, Dr K P Ramalingam, Rabinarayan Mohapatra, Bhupender Yadav, Ahmad Saeed Malihabadi, Shantaram Naik, Jesudasu Seelam, Ali Anwar Ansari and Dr Janardhan Waghmare.

The Tibetan Institute of Performing of Arts hosted a cultural performance for the delegation on the evening of 25 June. They were welcomed by Khenpo Sonam Tenphel, the deputy speaker of Tibetan Parliament. The delegation praised the vibrant Tibetan cultural songs and dances.

On 26 June, the standing committee of the Tibetan Parliament accorded a warm reception to the delegation during their visit to the Parliamentary Secretariat. The delegates were briefed about the issue of Tibet, following which they held deliberations with the Tibetan MPs.  

The delegation’s visits to the Tibetan Parliament and TIPA were co-ordinated by Punjab National Bank.

Share with your friends