September 1, 2006
   Posted in News Flash
Published By Tashi

Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh to be the President of Legislature Forum for Tibet

Friday, 1 September 2006, 5:00 PM

Welcoming the CM

Dharamshala: At a luncheon reception hosted by the Assembly of the Tibetan People’s Deputies (ATPD), on 28 August, in the honour of the members of the newly formed Himachal Pradesh Legislature Forum for Tibet, Vidhan Sabha speaker Shir Gangu Ram Musafir announced that the chief minister Shri Virbhadra Singh would be the president of the Forum.

The Forum made Shri Prem Kumar Dhumal, former chief minister of the state and Bharatya Janta Party (BJP) leader, as its first senior vice president and Parliamentary Affair Minister Shri Kaul Singh Thakur as its second vice president.

chairperson Mr Karma Choephel offering Khatak to the CM

Mr. Musafir also announced the names of the 15 executive committee members of the Forum.

The chairperson of the ATPD Mr. Karma Choephel thanked the members of the Forum on behalf of all the Tibetans. He said, “It was a very good start that the whole of the Vidhan Sabha members opted to become members of this forum. Hopefully we have plans that second such forum will be formed in Karnataka State, since we have largest Tibetan community there”.

Later, the vice-chair of the Assembly Mrs. Dolma Gyari expressed her appreciation to the government and the people of India for supporting the Tibetans in the most critical period of the Tibetan history.

Mrs Dolma Gyari with the Himachal chief minister

After the luncheon ceremony, Mr Karma Choephel offered Khatak to the members of the Forum.

The President of the Tibetan Local Assembly, Welfare Office, Tibetan Freedom Movement, Regional Tibetan Youth Congress and the Tibetan Women’s Association also offered Kathaks to the members on behalf of their respective organisations.



( is the official website of the Central Tibetan Administration of His Holiness the Dalai Lama.)



Share with your friends