June 7, 2005
   Posted in News Flash
Published By Tashi

Two Additional Election Commissioners Take Office

Dharamshala 7 June 2005: The Tibetan Election Commission of the Central Tibetan Administration (CTA) held a welcome ceremony yesterday for the newly appointed two additional election commissioners, Tenzin Dhargay and Trika Kherab.

Mr. Tenzin Dhargay and Mr. Trika Kherab.

His Holiness the Dalai Lama appointed the two additional commissioners from a list of candidates submitted by a special committee comprising of Kasur Kesang Yeshi, Kasur Lobsang Dhargay and Kasur Jetsun Pema.

The special committee in turn is formed by a committee comprising of the chief justice commissioner of the Tibetan Supreme Justice Commission, the chairperson and vice-chairperson of the Assembly of Tibetan People’s Deputies, and Kalon Tripa.

As the term of the present ATPD and the Kashag will conclude next year, the charter of the Tibetans in Exile, supreme law governing the functions of the CTA, provides for the appointment of two additional commissioners at times of election of the Kalon Tripa and the members of the ATPD. The additional commissioners will have the same responsibility and power as the election commissioner.

The Election Commission is an autonomous body that organises and oversees the election of the Kalon Tripa, members of the Assembly of Tibetan People’s Deputies (ATPD), the chairperson and vice chairperson of the ATPD, head of the settlements and their assistants, and others.

Share with your friends